Events-old

Our Nuclear Truth Project In Conversation meetings are an opportunity for community members and supporters of nuclear abolition to come together to listen and learn about nuclear issues. 

In May we heard from expert speakers discussing

Resisting Radioactivity: Mobilizing Against Nuclear Waste in the USA, Australia and Pacific Islands

Speakers included:

  • Vina Collery (USA) in conversation with Pam Kingfisher
  • Dr Jim Green (Australia) in conversation with Dimity Hawkins
  • Epeli Lesuma (Fiji) in conversation with Rico Robertson.

 

CHECK YOUR TIME ZONE!

IN THE USA + MA’OHI NUI/TAHITI: Monday 20 May

EDT/New York: 7pm, 20 May

CDT/Oklahoma: 6pm, 20 May

PDT/Los Angeles: 4pm, 20 May

TAHT/Papeete: 1pm, 20 May

OCEANIA: Tuesday 21 May

AEST/Melbourne: 9am, 21 May

ACST/Adelaide: 8.30am, 21 May

AWST/Perth: 7am, 21 May

FIJI, AOTEAROA + RMI: 11am, 21 May

JST/JAPAN: 8am, 21 May

* if you wish to check time zones for your city, please visit this page 

This session was held on Zoom

 

A recording will be available in coming days – stay tuned!

 

UPCOMING IN CONVERSATION SESSIONS

Our April In Conversation meeting heard from people in Fiji, Australia, Japan, and the United States. Our May In Conversation heard about nuclear waste issues from the USA, Australia and the Pacific Islands. Here’s what we have coming up!

  • 17/18 June 2024: AUKUS Beyond Borders: global and regional ramifications of the unfolding AUKUS nuclear and military alliance – registration opens early June
  • 15/16 July 2024: July Book Club! Meet Dr. Togzhan Kassenova, author of Atomic Steppe: How Kazakhstan Gave Up. – registration opens in late June 
  • 19/20 August 2024: Remembering Hiroshima
  • 16/17 September 2024: Confronting climate catastrophe: the role of Nuclear Resistance

Join our newsletter or social media to receive sign up details!

 

DNA Repair. 2017. 16 x 20 in. Acrylic on Watercolor Paper. Mallery Quetawki (Zuni Pueblo). artist site | instagram

​DNA has the ability to repair itself through complex mechanisms and pathways when damage occurs. Its intricacy of repair can be compared to the creation of beaded items in Native Culture. Designs are thought out ahead and require skill and patience to be able to bead such intricate pieces. When a beaded necklace comes undone, the stones/beads are restrung by using what is already there. The design used is from the Crow Nation. The use of the flower design symbolizes the idea of regrowth.

We would like to acknowledge the use of Ms. Quetawki’s images from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center, the University of New Mexico NCI-designated Comprehensive Cancer Center and the University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy.

We are grateful to Zuni Pueblo artist Mallery Quetawki for designing the beautiful Nuclear Truth Project logo. Combining many symbols familiar within the nuclear free movement, this stunning design evokes both the strength and the long story of the movement we are a living part of. As the artist explains;

“The olive branch is the offering for peace, the arrows are signifying the work towards a common cause and the peace symbol represents the outcome. The handprint represents unity and the sunflower represents remediation. The DNA strand represents the positive outcome for all living things.”

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.